

Ministry of External Affairs Government of India







RIS Research and Information System for Developing Countries विकासशील देशों की अनुसंधान एवं सूचना प्रणाली





30 Years of ASEAN-India Relations Delhi Dialogue XII

Building Bridges in Indo-Pacific

ITC Maurya, New Delhi 16-17 June, 2022

Version: 7 June 2022

Tentative Agenda

Day I: 16 June 2022

- 08.30 09.00 Registration, Tea and Coffee
- 09.00 09.30 Ground Breaking Session
 - Prof. Sachin Chaturvedi, Director General, RIS, New Delhi
 - Ms. Geetika Srivastava, Jt. Secretary (IP), Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), New Delhi

09.30 – 11.00 Plenary Session I: Indo-Pacific in the Changing World Order – Opportunities for Cooperation in the Maritime Domain

Chair: Admiral Karambir Singh, Chairman, National Maritime Foundation (NMF) and Former Chief of the Naval Staff, Indian Navy

Special remarks: Admiral R. Hari Kumar, Chief, Indian Navy, New Delhi (tbc)

Panellists:

- Prof. Thitinan Pongsudhirak, Director, Thailand ISIS, Bangkok
- Amb. Pou Sothirak, Executive Director, Cambodian Institute for Cooperation and Peace (CICP), Phnom Penh
- Commodore Debesh Lahiri, Executive Director, National Maritime Foundation (NMF), New Delhi
- Prof. Makoto Kojima, Professor Emeritus, Takushoku University and Senior Fellow, Center for Contemporary Indian Studies, Japan-India Association (JIA), Tokyo

11.00 – 11.30 Tea / Coffee Break

11.30 – 13.00 Plenary Session II: Recovery from the Pandemic and Economic Resurgence: Building Back a Better Economy amidst Global Challenges

Chair: Prof. Sachin Chaturvedi, Director General, RIS, New Delhi

Special remarks: Mr. Dammu Ravi, Secretary (ER), Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), New Delhi

Panellists

- Prof. T T Ram Mohan, Professor of Finance and Economics at the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad and Member, Prime Minister Economic Advisory Council, New Delhi
- Dr. Ramesh Subramaniam, Director General, Southeast Asia Department, Asian Development Bank (ADB), Manila
- Dr. Roland Rajah, Lead Economist and Director, International Economics Program, Lowy Institute, Sydney
- Dr. Asha Sundaram, Senior Lecturer, Department of Economics, University of Auckland, Auckland

13.00 – 14.00 Lunch

14.00 – 15.30Plenary Session III: Facilitating Trade, Investment and Value Chains
in the Post Pandemic Recovery and Rebuilding

Chair: Mr Rajeev Kher, Former Commerce Secretary, and Distinguished Fellow, RIS, New Delhi

Special remarks: Special Remarks by H.E. Dato Paduka Lim Jock Hoi, Secretary General, ASEAN

Panellists

- Dr. Rupa Chanda, Director, Trade, Investment and Innovation Division, UNESCAP, Bangkok
- Dr. S K Mohanty, Professor, Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), New Delhi
- Dato' Ramesh Kodamal, Co-Chair, ASEAN-India Business Council (AIBC) and Chairman, Goldtex Exim (M) Sdn Bhd, Kuala Lumpur
- Dr. Dipen Rughani, Founder and CEO, Newland Global Group, Sydney

15.30 – 16.00 Transfer to Taj Palace, New Delhi

16.30 - 18.30	Ministerial Panel on Thirty Years of ASEAN-India Relations [Venue: Taj Palace] [by invitation and restricted]
	• Remarks by ASEAN Ministers and Secretary General, and Indian EAM
18.30 - 20.00	Group Photo, High Tea and Cultural Programme [by invitation]
20.00	Reception and Dinner by EAM [by invitation]

Day II: 17 June 2022 [Venue: ITC Maurya, New Delhi]

09.30 – 11.00 Plenary Session IV: Digital Financial Architecture: Inclusive and Connected Digital Economy

Chair: Dr. Deepak Mishra, Director and CEO, ICRIER, New Delhi

Special Remarks by Mr. Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Union Minister of State for Electronics and Information Technology and Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, Government of India, New Delhi

Panellists

- Dr. Saurabh Garg, CEO, Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI), New Delhi
- Mr. Ranjit Goswami, Global Head, Tata Consultancy Services (TCS), New Delhi
- Mr. Sanjeev Kumar, Chairman & Managing Director and Director (Projects), TCIL, New Delhi
- Dr. Mana K. Southichack, Advisor, Ministry of Commerce, Lao PDR, and Co-Founder, Mekoxab Co., Vientiane
- 11.00 11.30 Tea/coffee break

11.30 – 13.00 Plenary Session V: Challenges in Next Decade: Energy and Climate

Chair: Dr Ajay Mathur, Director General, International Solar Alliance (ISA), Gurugram

Special Remarks by Mr. Raj Kumar Singh, Minister (Power, New & Renewable Energy), Government of India, New Delhi (tbc)

Panellists

- Mr. Beni Suryadi, Manager for Power, Fossil Fuel, Alternative Energy and Storage (PFS), ASEAN Centre for Energy, Jakarta
- Dr. Hezri Adnan, Executive Director, Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER), Kuala Lumpur
- Dr. Venkatachalam Anbumozhi, Director of Research Strategy and Innovation, ERIA, Jakarta
- Mr. Thuta Aung, Executive Chairman, The Mandalay Forum for East Asian Studies, Mandalay

13.00 – 14.00 Lunch

14.00–15.30 Plenary Session VI: Indo-Pacific: Way Forward

Chair: Amb. (Dr.) T C A Raghavan, Former Director General, Indian Council of World Affairs (ICWA), New Delhi

Special Remarks by Ambassador Sidharto R. Suryodipuro, Director General, ASEAN Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Indonesia, Jakarta

Panellists

- Mr. Koji Hachiyama, COO, Director General of Administration and Personnel Department, ERIA, Jakarta
- Dr. Ian Hall, Griffith Asia Centre, Brisbane
- Prof. Kavi Chongkittavorn, Senior Fellow, Institute of Security and International Studies (ISIS), Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok
- Prof. Dr. Hoang Anh Tuan, Vice-President, Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam (DAV), Ha Noi
- **15.30 16.00 Tea/coffee break**
- 16.00 16.45Valedictory Session
 - Special Remarks by Tan Sri Dato' Sri SA Vigneswaran, Prime Minister's Special Envoy to India and South Asia, Prime Minister's Office, Malaysia
 - Valedictory Address by Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, Minister of State, Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), New Delhi

Vote of Thanks

17.00 High Tea and End of the Programme